Bittersweet

Tomorrow we leave for the States. I’m going to miss the farm, Cartagena, and my husband’s large family with all their raucous drama. They are wonderful people. I wish we had accomplished more with our house and the farm, but at the same time, we came to a good stopping place in the construction process and can pick it up easily when we return. We have someone to look after the farm and keep it secure, so I’m not worried about that.

My dad and me

My dad and me

When will we return? That’s a good question. My father died yesterday at 92, one month short of his 93rd birthday. There are many details and arrangements to make as I’m the executor. We’re going to take over the care of my mom, a task my brother and his wife had been doing for both mom and dad. There are other complications and changes on the horizon. I don’t know how long they’ll take, but I’m one who embraces change. I’m also willing to follow the guidance of divine intelligence and know we’ll be led to the right places and the right decisions.

I’ll carry my lovely farm in my heart and in my mind’s eye until we can return. I’ll also carry the wonderful memories of my dad, remembering what a great person he was.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bittersweet

  1. Margarita Sorock says:

    Excellent! The plans are good. the photo shows how much you resembled one another.
    Thanks, madame executrix.

  2. vkaleda@comcast.net says:

    Wow, so much going on in your life right now! I want you to know that you have my deepest sympathy for your father’s passing and pray for your strength/stamina as you cope with all that is before you. Take care and be blessed.

  3. MaricelaG says:

    Hope you can return soon, wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

