Back in Colombia

house in PA SOLD

house in PA SOLD

I’m sorry for the long absence. I don’t really have a good excuse, so I won’t give one. The house in Brooklyn finally got sold back in October. Our house in PA also got sold on Nov. 12 (see photo), which was a good thing because we had plane tickets for Cartagena on Nov. 15 and we didn’t want to blow those. We took Mom to my brother in MA and our dog to join the other two in Texas with our daughter.

Our Resting Place in Cartagena

Our Resting Place in Cartagena

Now, we’re finally here in the glorious heat–high 80s and low 90s. We’ll stay with my husband’s family this week in a neighborhood of Cartagena (see photos). Then we’ll start working on the house at the farm again. (For those who didn’t follow last year you can see photos in the archives.) I want to finish the house soon, but I know that everything here takes time and lots of patience. I’ll stay with Roberto’s family and he’ll supervise the construction.

Looking up the street. We live on a hill.

Looking up the street. We live on a hill.

 

 

More to come………

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Back in Colombia

  1. Jo says:

    Hey Maya – glad to see the update and that both the houses sold, you made it to Cartagena and there will be progress on your new home soon. I’m a bit jealous of the warm temps! A bit chilly here today … coat, scarf, gloves … everything but the long johns! Love to you and family! Jo

  2. Diana A Yarzagaray says:

    Wow, thanks for the great photos. The ones of poder de dios bring back pleasant memories. I will miss the house in PA but I feel better knowing it will be filled with new memories from another good family. I look forward to more posts from a star blogger : ) and the best mom in the world. Much love to you and dad from me and the doggies.

  3. Mary says:

    Good to know you are enjoying warm weather and that everything seems to have turned out well! I miss writing poetry with you. Mary

    • mayadeb02 says:

      Everything DID turn out well. I hope you continue your poetry writing. I’ll be taking Lorraine’s Writing Your Life through Poetry course in January. Best to you.

  4. Valri says:

    Hi Maya,
    Glad to hear/see that everything turned out well and that you’re back in Cartagena. I too am envious of the warmer weather and cool ocean breezes! We’ve had a really nice fall here in Colorado, but snow and cold are coming tonight! I’ll be thinking of you and looking forward to hearing about your days in Colombia.

Leave a Reply

