Trip to Panama

Recently I left my winter vacation in Cartagena, Colombia, for a little visit to Panama. I was in Panama last year at this time for a brief tour of the Canal and its surroundings. I liked the hotel we stayed in, so I thought I’d go back there. There are two museums in the area I wanted to visit. The Smithsonian Institution has a Nature Research Center nearby and then there’s the Biodiversity Museum, designed by Paul Gehry. I also took a day trip to Isla Taboga, a 45-minute ferry ride from Panama City. Got sunburned that day. Ouch! Here are my photos:

Bridge of the Americas View from my hotel window. Channel for boats entering the canal.

Bridge of the Americas
View from my hotel window. Channel for boats entering the canal.

One tank at the Smithsonian Nature Research Center

One tank at the Smithsonian Nature Research Center

Cute baby sloth at Smithsonian Research Center

Cute baby sloth at Smithsonian Research Center

 

 

 

 

Along the walkway of the Smithsonian Research Center

Along the walkway of the Smithsonian Research Center

 

 

 

 

Biodiversity Museum from a distance. Quite colorful.

Biodiversity Museum from a distance. Quite colorful.

On the Ferry to Isla Taboga.

On the Ferry to Isla Taboga.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Approaching Isla Taboga

Approaching Isla Taboga

Church on Isla Taboga. Do the priests play basketball?

Church on Isla Taboga. Do the priests play basketball?

 

 

 

 

 

 

The man next to me on the ferry was visiting Panama for the first time. His wife, who took the picture, grew up in Panama in the U.S. section. They live near Austin, TX, about 1-1/2 hours from me. Small world:)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Trip to Panama

  1. Mary Tuchscherer says:

    Looks like fun!

  2. Margarita Sorock says:

    Panama looks very enticing. I want to hear more about it in greater detail.

    Un abrazo de todo corazón,
    Margarita

  3. Donna Lazarus says:

    Looks like a beautiful trip, and you look great!

Leave a Reply

