Overdue for Blogging

I’ve been very remiss about writing on my blog, mostly because I couldn’t think of anything to say and I hadn’t been feeling well for two months since I returned to Texas from Cartagena. But now I’m BACK on my blog.

Took a walk on my pleasant country road this morning. There are wildflowers still blooming.

Roadside flower

Roadside flower

Roadside flowers

Roadside flowers

 

A patch of wildflowers

A patch of wildflowers

I walk up the road every morning to feed an abandoned dog who is very shy. Won’t come

Bentley

Bentley

near me. His owner died a couple of months ago and my daughter was the one who discovered the dog was still there. I guess no one could catch him. We’re not sure of his name, usually call him Bentley, but no matter what we call him, he doesn’t come.

 

 

Roadside turtle

Roadside turtle

Walking further up the road after feeding “Bentley,” I discovered this sweet turtle by the side of the road. I thought he might want to cross to the pond on the other side, so I picked him up and saw that there was a deep round hole underneath him. Oops! It’s a female and she’s laying eggs into the hole. I put her back down immediately and apologized.

Ah, back at my front gate after a cool walk.

my front gate

my front gate

my road

my road

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Overdue for Blogging

  1. Margarita Sorock says:

    I am glad you are back to blogging. The photos are very welcome since they help to tell your story.

  2. Wonderful! Glad to go on your morning walk with you. Delighted to know you are back to blogging.

  3. Donna Lazarus says:

    Hello Maya,

    I’m glad you are feeling well!

    Thanks for the pictures of wildflowers and turtle and Bentley. Have you tried lying down on your bellies and offering food to Bentley from your hands? It may take a while. Just leave it for him if he doesn’t come at first, but maybe he will after a while.

    Love,

    Donna

    • mayadeb02 says:

      Haven’t tried the belly approach yet. Sounds like a good idea. It will have to be something very enticing for him to come out of the woods while I’m there:-)

      • Donna Lazarus says:

        Good luck! every dog (cat, etc.) is worth saving or trying to save. I’ve been leaving food for two years for a little black cat (he’s been neutered; one ear clipped) a block away. He waits for me now (I presume; I’ve seen him four times this week and I used to never see him. He knows who I am now, and I try to touch him. He doesn’t really like that but he doesn’t run away either.) It’s all little by little; after a while they trust, just not right away. It takes time.

        Love,

        Donna

  4. mayadeb02 says:

    Diana also says it takes time. I’m the less patient one, but trying not to be.

Leave a Reply

